Ribbit Ribbit – To Frog or Not to Frog

Perfectionism vs. Get-It-Done-ism….

There is a term I only picked up recently in crochet called “frogging.” It had been tossed around in various groups/comments, and it took me a while to figure out it meant undoing your work to fix/change something. I honestly can’t seem to remember what it means (maybe it has to do with the sound the yarn makes as it’s ripped free?).

Whatever the meaning, I now say “Ribbit Ribbit” whenever I have to back track.

Often aloud.

In public.

Of course, I’ve usually done a complete round or row past my mistake before I notice that I messed up in the first place. And here kicks in the dilemma. To Frog or not to Frog? Almost always, I go back and fix it. Even if I’m halfway done with a hat that’s just not working out right, I’ll rip the whole thing out and start again. Multiple times. And yet, despite the fact that 19 times out of 20, I go back and fix it, I STILL have this debate with myself…

Oh shoot! Ugh. That’s not right. Grrrrrrr. Can I skip over it easily? Will anyone else notice? Well, I’ll know. But no one else will. Will they? But even if they don’t, I will. And the whole time I’m working on this, I’ll be thinking of this mistake. Just get over it! But then when I give this to the recipient, I’ll know it’s not perfect. And it could have been perfect. I can even fix it now. How much time would I really lose? Ugh – all that time lost! Maybe I can just work it out and keep going. But then there will be one blemish that could have been fixed! Perfection is within reach! But I really don’t want to have to do my work all over again! But this time, I’ll KNOW that it’s right. Okay fine! You win! Are you happy now?!?!?

Ribbit Ribbit.

And as I rip out my beautiful flawed work, a mixture of satisfaction and frustration run through me. I fix my error and sigh. I get back to the point to where I noticed the problem and smile. And I finish the work more joyfully than I started. I honestly should know better than to argue with myself.

I always win.

The mistake I didn't frog

Here’s one time I left it alone. It’s a corner to corner baby blanket and my rows are getting really long now as I approach the center. I missed a stitch. I had to consult with the hubby who quickly said “let it go.” So I did. In this pattern, it blends away really well (it actually took me a few minutes to find the mistake to photograph it!). Although every time I work on it, I know. I KNOW. But at least the yarn is pretty!

Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable Yarn 3960 Tidal (afflink)

2 thoughts on “Ribbit Ribbit – To Frog or Not to Frog

  1. I enjoyed your story. I feel just the same and leave errors occasionally if it’s lots of trouble to go back but mostly ‘frog’ too! However I am beginning to try and be less of a ‘perfectionist’ in general. It does make life harder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

